GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 4 October 2013.

PRESENT: Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Ms A Harrison, Mr R J Parry and Mr A Terry (Substitute for Mrs Z Wiltshire)

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

8. Election of Chairman

(Item)

(1) Mrs V J Dagger moved, seconded by Miss S J Carey that Mr R J Parry be elected Chairman for the meeting.

Carried with no opposition.

(2) Mr R J Parry thereupon took the Chair.

9. Minutes - 28 June 2013

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 28 June 2013 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

10. Dates of meetings in 2014

(Item A4)

(1) The Committee noted its meeting dates in 2014:-

Friday, 7 February 2014; Friday, 2 May 2014; Friday, 27 June 2014; Friday, 3 October 2014; Friday, 21 November 2014.

(2) The Panel also noted that Selection and Member Services Committee had agreed that meetings of the Panel should be webcast. The Panel therefore asked that the Chairman of the Panel write to the Chairman of Selection and Member Services Committee expressing the Panel's strong reservations on the appropriateness of broadcasting its meetings.

- (3) RESOLVED that:-
 - (a) the dates of the Governor Appointments Panel meetings in 2014 be noted; and

(b) the Chairman be requested to write to the Chairman of Selection and Member Services Committee on the Panel's behalf expressing its strong reservations on the appropriateness of broadcasting its meetings.

11. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) The Panel noted that Mr M Carr's administrative details had been completed on time but had not been included in the papers for the previous meeting of the Panel. It therefore agreed to back date his appointment to the Governing Body of The North School to June 2013.

(2) The Panel noted that one of the candidates was the grandparent of children at The North School. As this did not breach Guideline 2 for Appointments, there were no grounds not to re-appoint. The Panel considered that there might be a case for extending the Guideline from being a parent of a child at a school to having a close family relationship. It therefore requested that a report on this particular Guideline be presented to a future meeting of the Panel.

(3) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that Ms M Cartwright's attendance at The Kings Farm Primary School Governing Body meetings had been 83%. It therefore confirmed her re-appointment.

(4) The Panel agreed by 4 votes to 0 with 1 abstention not to renew Mr A Ebataleye's appointment to the Governing Body of South Avenue Infant School as his attendance continued to be below the required level despite an exception having been made when he had previously been re-appointed in October 2009.

(5) RESOLVED that:-

- (a) the appointments of Authority Governors to Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes; and
- (b) A report on Guideline 2 be presented to a future meeting of the Panel as set out in (2) above.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 11 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

School Goat Lees School Woodchurch CEP School

2. CANTERBURY

School Simon Langton Girls' Grammar School Wincheap Foundation Primary School Wincheap Foundation Primary School

3. DARTFORD

School Stone St Mary's CE Primary School

4. DOVER

School St Richard's Catholic Primary School

5. GRAVESHAM

School Cobham Primary School Kings Farm Primary School Vigo Village School

6. MAIDSTONE

School Holy Family RC Primary School Molehill Copse Primary Academy

7. SEVENOAKS

School Sevenoaks Primary School Sevenoaks Primary School St Thomas' Catholic Primary School Appointee Mr W Michael Mr S Godfrey

Appointee Mrs U Fuller Ms J Treharne Mr A Hollands

Appointee

Mrs P T Cole

Appointee Mr C Veck

Appointee

Mr J Jackson Mrs M Cartwright Ms S Oag

Appointee Mr R Pankhurst Mrs S Timms

Appointee Mrs V Kerton Mrs V Quijada Mr M Whiddett

8. SHEPWAY

School

Castle Hill Community Primary School Harcourt Primary School Lympne CEP School Lympne CEP School Seabrook CE Primary School The Federation of Bodsham and Saltwood Primary Schools

9. SWALE

School

Eastling Primary School Minterne Junior School South Avenue Junior School The Federation of Swale Catholic Primary Schools The Federation of Swale Catholic Primary Schools The Oaks Community Infant School Tunstall CE Aided School

10. THANET

School St Crispin's Community Primary Infant School

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Aylesford School – Sports College Kings Hill School Wouldham All Saints CE Primary School

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Claremont Primary School Goudhurst and Kilndown CEP School Horsmonden Primary School Langton Green Primary School Sissinghurst CE Primary School St John's CE Primary School St Matthew's High Brooms CE Priamry School

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

- 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS
- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS
- 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

Appointee

Mrs J Rumley Mr P Gane Mr L Burrett Mrs M Tyler Mrs S Dinsdale Mr W Gardener

Appointee

Mr S Elderkin Mr D Conway Mr D Hares Mr D Hares Mr A Horton Mr D Conway Mrs P Richards

Appointee

Mr J Merry

Appointee

Mr L Burnard Mrs T Holditch Mr D Holman

Appointee

Dr C Van Der Zanden Mr E Sneddon Mr G Leslie Mr M Tunnel Mr R Smith Mr J Szumilwicz Mrs K Stevenson